The Rock City archives: 2015

Save Your Breath, Rock City Basement

  • Tuesday 27th January 2015

Save Your Breath came together as many groups do, born out of friends who all grew up in the same scene and eventually came to play music together. Hailing from the small Welsh town of Newport, bassist Ben Griffiths began jamming with friend and guitarist Tom Owen after the demise of his first band, and before long, the two were joined by drummer Bobby Sondergaard, second guitarist Adam Parslow, and singer Webbo to cement the lineup of Save Your Breath. They took primary influence for their poppy punk confection from the likes of Green Day, Saves the Day, Bad Brains, and the Ataris, and these were apparent on the band's debut EP, Nothing Worth Having Comes Easy, released in the U.K. by local label Stagedive Music in 2009. The band supported the record throughout Europe playing with acts like Funeral for a Friend, Set Your Goals, and Polar Bear Club. During that time, a new vocalist joined on, longtime friend Kristian Richards, and ultimately, U.S.-based Adeline Records got in touch about releasing the EP stateside. The record then appeared digitally via the label in the spring of 2010, complete with two previously unreleased bonus tracks.