The Rock City archives: 2013

The Dangerous Summer , Rock City Basement

  • Wednesday 25th September 2013
  • Supported by: Verses, Lacey

The Dangerous Summer is an alternative rock band from Ellicott City, Maryland, currently based out of Los Angeles, California. The band consists of AJ Perdomo (vocals), Cody Payne (guitar, backup vocals), Matthew Kennedy (guitar) and Ben Cato (drums).

TDS independently released a five song EP ‘There Is No Such Thing as Science’ in 2007, which drew the attention of Hopeless Records. They re-released the debut EP under a new name, ‘If You Could Only Keep Me Alive’ with new songs included. The band’s debut studio album, ‘Reach for the Sun’ was released on May 5, 2009.

The album reached #42 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart.

On May 14, 2010, the band announced they would be playing ‘Reach for the Sun’ from front to back on their first headlining tour. The Morning Of will be playing the entire tour. Go Radio, Action Item, and The Bigger Lights was also on the tour at various dates.

In the summer of 2011, TDS played a Warped Tour schedule and released their second full-length album, titled ‘War Paint’ which was on released on July 19, 2011.


The band has stated influences from Third Eye Blind, Bright Eyes, U2, Phil Collins, Explosions in the Sky, Jimmy Eat World, and Andrew McMahon. “The Dangerous Summer” is taken from the novel of same name written by Ernest Hemingway.