The Rock City archives: 2016

Boyce Avenue, Rock City Main Hall

  • Friday 18th March 2016
  • Supported by: Calum Scott

Boyce Avenue 2015 Boyce Avenue, a Florida-based band, consists of three brothers Alejandro, Fabian, and Daniel Manzano.

The brothers first came together as a band in 2004 when Alejandro (lead vocals, guitar, piano), Fabian (guitar, vocals), and their older brother Daniel (bass, percussion, vocals) reconnected after Daniel graduated from Harvard Law School and moved back to Florida where Fabian and Alejandro were both attending classes at the University of Florida.

It was there that the brothers continued to write music and perform local shows, taking their most formative steps toward becoming a band. In 2007, in an effort to share their music and ideas with the world, the band decided to start filming and posting videos on YouTube of them performing their own songs as well as some of their favorite songs by other popular artists. The videos began to resonate instantly with YouTube viewers and to date the band’s YouTube channel has amassed over 1,800,000,000 views and 7,000,000 subscribers making them the biggest independent band on the network.

The band has also amassed 540,000 Twitter followers and over 2.9 million Facebook subscribers, forging a lasting and passionate digital fan base. In 2010, the band released their major label debut album, All We Have Left, on Universal Republic records, featuring the single “Every Breath” with a music video shot by acclaimed director Zach Merck (Blue October, Safetysuit) based on an idea created by the band. After trying the major label route, the band elected to buy back their album and have released all their music since then through their own 3 Peace Records record label.

In April 2014, the band released their EP, NO LIMITS, which includes seven original tracks produced by the band, with “Ill Be The One” co-produced with Milkman and “Scars” with Ryan Ogren. Over the past 3 plus years, Boyce Avenue has played for over 400,000 people in 20 countries and 5 continents including United States, Canada, Australia, Asia, Brazil, Europe and the United Kingdom. Boyce Avenue is: Alejandro Manzano (lead vocals, guitar, piano) Fabian Manzano (guitar, vocals) Daniel Manzano (bass, percussion, vocals)