The Rock City archives: 2016


  • Saturday 7th May 2016
  • Supported by: Milestones + Vetches

The band consists of four former members of the electronic rock band My Passion, the line-up consisting of Jon Gaskin, Simon Rowlands and Jamie Nicholls, who all agreed to stay together as and form a new band while Laurence Rene, the former singer of My Passion, did not. The band was officially announced on 13 January 2013 along with the release of their first song titled 'Control'. The song was aired on BBC Radio a month later. In April the band embarked on their first ever tour supporting Fearless Vampire Killers throughout April in the UK.

In 2014 they embarked on a tour in the UK along with Max Raptor in January 2014 across the UK, making it their first tour they've embarked on as a headliner and where also announced to be part of the LAB Records roster and would be releasing their debut mini album titled 'Courage' on 11 May. To promote the release the band released an official music video for the song 'The Rapture'. In July the band released their music video for the song 'New Life' and a month later the band performed at Sonisphere Festival. The band also supported rock band Mallory Knox in the UK throughout November along with Frank Iero and Moose Blood.

Fort Hope have continued to grow with numerous plays on Radio 1. They were nominated for "Best British Newcomer" in the 2015 Kerrang! Awards and played on the Fresh Blood stage at Slam Dunk Festival. Over the summer they played 2000 trees, T in the Park and Reading & Leeds!